About Asia Art Archive

Mission

Art is knowledge. Asia Art Archive is a catalyst for new ideas that enrich our understanding of the world through the collection, creation, and sharing of knowledge around recent art in Asia.

 

What We Do

With one of the most valuable growing collections of material on the recent history of art from Asia, freely available from our website and onsite library, AAA builds tools and communities to collectively expand knowledge through research, residency, and educational programmes.

 

How We Do It

We drive the composition of our collection with key areas of concern known as content priorities. These include examining sites where art history has been written in Asia through the lens of art writing, exhibitions, and pedagogy; looking at ideas that connect us beyond national borders (complex geographies); considering tradition and contemporary expression in parallel; investigating ephemeral practices such as performance art; and addressing gaps in art history and in our collection such as the imbalance of the representation of women.

Our collection comprises a vast range of documentation, including the personal archives of significant artists, educators, and art professionals as well as key exhibitions and art spaces. We continually add to it through a research, acquisition, and digitisation process. Our library houses our physical collection, which encompasses reference books, monographs, exhibition catalogues, periodicals, and rare ephemeral materials.

As part of our effort to build a community that enriches conversations around art, and be a leading resource and catalyst for scholarship in the field, we organise talks, workshops, conferences, symposia, and research grants for and with art professionals, educators, academics, artists, and the interested public.

We activate and circulate the collection in multiple ways: by offering residencies and grants for art professionals to conduct research at AAA, creating teaching resources for educators, presenting regular programming and partnering with arts initiatives to critically enquire into the collection, partnering with educational institutions to use the collection to look at how art is taught, and by commissioning and publishing articles around the collection.

These programmes and partnerships generate new ideas and connections that fuel future collections and projects.


Who We Are

Asia Art Archive is an independent non-profit organisation co-founded by Claire Hsu and Johnson Chang in 2000 in response to the urgent need to document and make accessible the multiple recent histories of art in the region.

A team of over thirty-five individuals led by Hsu are responsible for AAA’s Collection, research activities, programming, and operations. AAA’s Board of Directors, chaired by Jane DeBevoise since 2003, comprises appointed members drawn from the art and business sectors within Hong Kong and beyond. The Board jointly supports the Executive Director and oversees the strategic direction and financial status of the organisation. AAA is financially supported through diverse channels to include individuals, corporate, foundations, and government.

AAA’s Advisory Board comprises thirty-eight noted curators and critics from around the world. Advisors provide guidance in developing the potential and possibility of our collection, and assist in promoting the growing research interest in art from Asia.

Asia Art Archive in America and Asia Art Archive in India are set up as independent entities with separate Boards of Directors.

To view our current staff, Board of Directors, and Advisory Board please click here.

文獻庫概覽

使命宣言

藝術即學問。亞洲藝術文獻庫以典藏、創造及分享亞洲當代藝術知識為己任,催化新知,豐富我們對世界的認識。

 

我們的任務

亞洲藝術文獻庫擁有區內最珍貴的亞洲近代藝術歷史資料,公眾可透過我們的網站及親臨位於香港的圖書館免費查閱。文獻庫致力開發研究工具及建立社群,藉著舉辦研究項目、駐場計劃及教育活動,集思廣益以開拓知識領域。

 

我們的實踐

文獻庫的館藏建基於下列多個我們重點關注的範疇:亞洲區內的藝術書寫、展覽及教學如何建構亞洲藝術史;跨越以至凝聚不同國界的共同理念﹙地緣﹚;傳統如何豐富當代藝術的發表和創作;瞬間即逝的藝術實踐,如行為藝術;點出文獻庫館藏以至藝術史上的遺漏,包括女性長期被忽略的貢獻。

我們的館藏涵蓋了各種各樣的紀錄及罕見印刷品,當中包括重要藝術家、教育工作者和藝術界專材的個人檔案,以及重點展覽和藝術空間的文獻,並藉著研究計劃、採購、及數碼化項目持續增長。我們的圖書館所儲存的實體館藏則包括參考書籍、專題著作、展覽圖錄、期刊及印刷品等。

我們致力建立一個互動社群,從而促進關於近代藝術的交流和對話,並為領域內的學術研究提供重要資源。我們積極為藝術界專才、教育工作者、學者、藝術家、以及對藝術感興趣的公眾人士策動各類型講座、工作坊、研討會及研究獎助金等項目。

我們同時以多種方式活化和推廣館藏:為藝術界專才提供駐場計劃和獎助金,鼓勵他們在文獻庫進行研究;為教育工作者製作教學材料;定期策動或與藝術組織協作研究館藏的項目;夥拍教育機構一同利用館藏探討藝術教學;委託寫作並發表有關館藏的文章。

透過以上活動和協作項目,我們期望為地區藝術史發掘和建構更多重的理解,從而激發新觀點。

 

我們是誰

亞洲藝術文獻庫 (「文獻庫」) 是一個獨立的非牟利機構,由徐文玠及張頌仁創辦於 2000 年,旨在保存亞洲近代藝術的多重歷史,並促進相關資源的流通。

文獻庫團隊的成員超過35人,由徐文玠帶領,工作範疇包括文獻庫館藏、研究項目、公眾活動及日常營運。文獻庫的董事會負責管治和監督機構的運作,自2003年起由杜柏貞女士擔任主席,成員來自香港及海外的藝術界和商界。董事會支持行政總監的工作,並監督文獻庫的整體策略和財務狀況。亞洲藝術文獻庫的資金來自社會各界,包括個別人士、企業、基金會及政府。

文獻庫諮詢委員會由來自世界各地的知名策展人和藝評人組成,現時有38名成員。諮詢委員會為文獻庫團隊提供發展館藏的指導,並協助推廣亞洲地區日漸興盛的藝術研究風氣。

位於美國及印度的亞洲藝術文獻庫分部以獨立方式營運,並由各自的董事會管治。

按此查閱文獻庫團隊及董事會成員。